CISR Designation

​​​​KAIA manages the Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) designation program in Kansas. The CISR Program trains new agents and CSRs to better understand and analyze risks and exposures. There are nine courses offered through the CISR program. Each of the nine courses will qualify for 7 hours of state continuing education credits.  Agents may choose any five of the nine courses to earn their CISR designation:

  • Commercial Casualty I - CGL, Additional Insureds
  • Commercial Casualty II - BAP, WC, Excess Liability
  • Insuring Commercial Property
  • Insuring Personal Auto Exposures
  • Insuring Personal Residential Property
  • Personal Lines Miscellaneous
  • Agency Operations
  • Elements of Risk Management
  • Life & Health Essentials

The CISR classes listed below do not count toward earning a designation, but they can be used for updates and state CE credit:

  • Dynamics of Service
  • William T. Hold Seminars

Program Eligibility

Anyone working in the insurance field is eligible to participate the CISR program. Because course content thoroughly addresses all aspects of risks and exposures, the courses are particularly beneficial for new agents, as well as newer agency and company personnel. 

Benefits of Earning CISR Designation

The Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) program is one the industry's superior education opportunities. The program empowers agents and CSRs to provide exceptional customer service. Participants receive up-to-date information they can apply immediately in their day-to-day interactions with customers, including a complete knowledge of risks, coverages and exposures, cross selling and account rounding skills.

Requirements to Earn the CISR Designation

An optional examination is held at the conclusion of each course. To earn the CISR designation, participants must successfully complete five courses and exams within a three-year period. 

Retaining the CISR Designation

To retain the CISR designation, annual continuing education is required. CISRs also earn eligibility to participate in William T. Hold seminars.

CISR Elite

After you earn the CISR designation, an update is required each year to keep your education current and to maintain your CISR designation. If
you choose to update by attending one of the remaining four CISR courses, you will be on your way to achieving the CISR Elite distinction. Once you’ve completed and passed all nine CISR courses (the first five courses within three years and the remaining four courses within an additional three years), you will earn the highest recognition for those in customer service anywhere. With this new status, CISR Elites will receive a new pin, a special diploma, and recognition at a conferment ceremony.




​2018 CISR Classes

March 20, 2018