Skip to content

CISR Program

​KAIA manages the Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) designation program in Kansas.

The CISR Program trains new agents and CSRs to better understand and analyze risks and exposures. There are nine courses offered through the CISR program.

Agents may choose any five of the nine courses to earn their CISR designation:

  • Commercial Casualty I - CGL, Additional Insureds
  • Commercial Casualty II - BAP, WC, Excess Liability
  • Insuring Commercial Property
  • Insuring Personal Auto Exposures
  • Insuring Personal Residential Property
  • Personal Lines Miscellaneous
  • Agency Operations
  • Elements of Risk Management
  • Life & Health Essentials

The CISR classes listed below do not count toward earning a designation, but they can be used for updates and state CE credit:

  • Dynamics of Service
  • William T. Hold Seminars

CISR Eligibility

Anyone working in the insurance field is eligible to participate in the CISR program. Because course content thoroughly addresses all aspects of risks and exposures, the courses are particularly beneficial for new agents, as well as newer agency and company personnel.

CISR Designation Benefits

The Certified Insurance Service Representative (CISR) program is one of the industry's superior education opportunities. The program empowers you to provide exceptional customer service. You will receive up-to-date information you can immediately apply in your day-to-day interactions with customers, including complete knowledge of risks, coverages, and exposures, cross-selling and account rounding skills.

CISR Requirements

An optional examination is held at the conclusion of each course. To earn the CISR designation, you must successfully complete five courses and exams within a three-year period.

CISR Retention

To retain your CISR designation, annual continuing education is required. As a CISR, you also earn eligibility to participate in William T. Hold seminars.

CISR Elite

After you earn the CISR designation, an update is required each year to keep your education current and to maintain your CISR designation.

If you choose to update by attending one of the remaining four CISR courses, you will be on your way to achieving the CISR Elite distinction.

Once you've completed and passed all nine CISR courses (the first five courses within three years and the remaining four courses within an additional three years), you will earn the highest recognition for those in customer service anywhere.

With this new status, CISR Elites will receive a new pin, a special diploma, and recognition at a conferment ceremony.

When is the next class?

Karlyn Judd, Professional Development & Events Manager, is ready to assist you with any questions you may have!

Scroll To Top