Skip to content

Industry Awards

Now Accepting Nominations for 2024!

As your association, we are pledged to champion the independent agency system's reputation and future growth. As part of that pledge, we fell it is crucial to recognize those independent insurance professionals who look beyond the bounds of their own business to help our mission of elevating independent insurance agencies.

Our Industry Awards showcase peer-nominated members who have leveraged their resources to solve problems, advance the industry and professional performance, kick-started innovation, and improved their communities.

We know independent insurance professionals wear a lot of hats as small business owners, employers, consumer advocates, industry professionals, and civic leaders. KAIA's Annual Insurance Industry Awards are one way to recognize and promote the valuable roles that Kansas independent agents fulfill on the local, state and national levels.

You are invited to nominate independent agents and company representatives for one or more awards! Nomination forms are brief and nominations may be made anonymously.

Awards Process

Award Rules
  1. To be eligible for the KAIA Industry Awards, nominees must be a KAIA member in good standing at both the time of nomination AND when awards are announced at the annual convention. We will notify the nominee of any membership issues that impact eligibility.
  2. Past award winners are ineligible for nomination in the same category for a period of three (3) years after winning. Nominees who did not win may be nominated again in any award category.
  3. Multiple/repeat nominations do not increase the chances of winning an award. KAIA determines the winner of each award category.
  4. We do not provide nominees with promotional items to publicize their nomination. Nominees are free to create their own campaigns and images. Anything using the KAIA name or logo must be approved by KAIA staff in writing prior to use; please submit items to for approval.
Award Process
Winner Recognition

Award Descriptions & Nomination Forms

2023 Award Recipients

Agent of the Year:
Robert Richey, Conrade Insurance Group

Distinguished Service Award:
Cindy Hower, Kellerman Insurance

Company Rep of the Year:
Sue FitzGerald, Marysville Mutual Insurance Company

Outstanding Young Agent:
Ashton Fee, Fee Insurance Group

Outstanding Account Manager:
Lori Kearns, Raleigh Insurance Agency



"I am extremely honored to receive the KAIA Agent of the Year award. I am grateful for the recognition for my dedication to the insurance industry.  I look forward to continuing my career in the insurance industry and hopeful that people will use me as a resource for years to come."

Maria Dressman
Senior Account Manager
Elliott Group

Agent of the Year

Recognizes a Kansas agent who has made significant contributions to the industry, enhancing the ideals and reputation of the industry and/or shown a commitment of service to his or her community. Open to all KAIA agent members.

Outstanding Young Agent

Recognizes a young agent (under age 40 or less than five years in the business) who has demonstrated exceptional leadership, motivation, and dedication on behalf of the industry and/or association. Open to all KAIA young agent members.

Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes an individual in the independent insurance industry who has gone above and beyond as a KAIA member through volunteering, advocating or enhancing association membership or operations. Open to all KAIA agents and company members.

Company Rep of the Year

Recognizes an individual working at an insurance company who has been a proponent of KAIA and its member agencies, enhanced the reputation of the industry and promoted the independent insurance agency brand. Open to all KAIA company members.

Advocate of the Year

Recognizes an individual working on legislative and regulatory issues to support KAIA while advocating for customers, member agencies, and the independent agency system. Open to all KAIA company members.

Account Manager of the Year

The Account Manager of the Year Award is given to honor an individual who promotes the importance of the CSR/Account Manager role on behalf of the Kansas Independent Agency System plus the citizens and communities of Kansas.

Scroll To Top